RSS

You Have the Power to Donate the Gift of Life

22 Feb

Gwen Pegram and Andre BraggPlease register to Become an Organ, Eye, or Tissue Donor?

Today is Andre and my 11th Anniversary. We are bound together by my kidney.

Eleven years ago, I participated in a pilot program (Living Kidney Donor) through the Washington Regional Transplant Community. This program allows an individual to donate a kidney to the pool of waiting patients who are anonymous. The list holds the names of thousands of patients awaiting a kidney. Prior to this pilot program, a patient had only two choices: a kidney donation with a blood-type match relative or await a kidney from a stranger’s loved one who is brain dead/on life support.

I was honored to meet my recipient and quite surprised to learn that my 50-year-old kidney went to a 13-year-old boy. Andre and I are both doing well and I have no regrets.

If you need a really great story to get you inspired to “register to donate,” please read this very touching and humbling story of paying it forward, which was posted in The New York Times a year ago, February 18, 2012.

Please tweet or email me. I’m happy to share my experience with anyone who wants more information on becoming a living organ donor.

©Photograph copyright.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2013 in Health, People

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Please Leave a Reply

 
